Skip to content

International cooperation in the Arctic

Denmark is proud to be part of strong international coalitions in the Arctic, working for a peaceful, prosperous and sustainable future for the Arctic.

Denmark, Canada and the Arctic 

Canada is a highly valued partner for Denmark and the Arctic relations between the two countries serve as a model of cooperation.

As neighbouring Arctic coastal states, Denmark and Canada share more than 1,000 km of maritime border, strong bilateral relations in terms of Arctic research, military and environmental cooperation, a common Inuit cultural heritage, and a strong partnership in the Arctic Council.

The Arctic Council

The Arctic Council is a high-level intergovernmental forum established to promote cooperation, coordination and interaction among the Arctic States, including the input of Arctic indigenous communities and other Arctic inhabitants on common Arctic issues.

Members of the Arctic Council are Denmark (including Greenland and the Faroe Islands), Canada, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden, and the United States.

Find information on the Arctic Council here.

The Ilulissat Declaration

On May 28th 2008, the five coastal states bordering the Arctic Ocean (Canada, Denmark, Norway, Russia and USA) ratified the Ilulissat Declaration.

This is a strong treaty dedicated to the preservation of the unique ecosystem and fragile marine environment of the Arctic Ocean by improving the safety of maritime navigation and reducing the risk of ship-based pollution.

Read the Declaration.