Skip to content

Bilateral visa agreements

Denmark still has old bilateral visa agreements with Canada and a few other countries that precede the Schengen agreement. These bilateral visa agreements can still be enforced under certain conditions. For details please see the information below.

The bilateral visa agreements can be used if the visitor plans to spend more than 90 days in the Schengen region.

The bilateral agreements allow certain nationals to travel to Denmark and the other Nordic countries visa exempt for up to 90 days per every period of 180 days on the condition that the 90 days visa exempt period according to the Schengen rules has been spent outside of Denmark and the other Nordic countries prior to the visit to Denmark.

The bilateral visa agreements are valid for visits to Denmark and the Nordic countries only.

Denmark has bilateral agreements with Australia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Israel, Japan, Malaysia, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea and USA.

Canadian nationals who plan to take advantage of the bilateral agreement should note that they should not enter the Schengen region through Denmark or any of the Nordic countries. If they spend any amount of time in Denmark and/or the other Nordic countries in the first 90 days of their visa exempt period according to the Schengen agreement, they cannot claim the following 90 days visa exempt period for Denmark and the Nordic countries.

As passports will not be stamped when travelling between the Schengen countries, we highly recommend that documentation such as bus/train/flight tickets to Denmark as well as hotel receipts and anything else that can document the stay in Denmark and the Nordic countries, is kept handy in case the border police at the Schengen border will ask about the stay.

If you have any questions to the above, please contact the Royal Danish Embassy in Canada before finalising your travel plans.

Excerpt of the Danish law - in Danish only:

'Justitsministeriets kundgørelse om pas- og visumforhold
Herved offentliggøres Justitsministeriets oversigt over udlændinge, som pr. 1. januar 2012 er fritaget
for pas og visum, samt oversigt over godkendte grænseovergangssteder, jf. § 4, stk. 4, § 5, stk.
4, § 10, stk. 9 og § 14, stk. 2, i bekendtgørelse nr. 475 af 12. maj 2011 om udlændinges adgang her
til landet (udlændingebekendtgørelsen).2 3...'

Page 16: '...V. Ophold i Danmark efter tre måneders ophold i et andet Schengenland
Uanset at de pågældende måtte have opholdt sig i et andet Schengenland forud for indrejsen i Danmark, har statsborgere fra Australien, Brasilien, Canada, Chile, Israel, Japan, Malaysia, New Zealand, Singapore, Sydkorea og USA, som Danmark har bilaterale visumfritagelsesaftaler med, ret til frit at indrejse og opholde sig i Danmark i indtil tre måneder i løbet af en seks måneders periode regnet fra datoen for første indrejse i Danmark eller et andet nordisk land. I de nævnte tre måneder fradrages den tid, hvori udlændingen inden for seks måneders perioden har opholdt sig i Danmark eller et andet nordisk land.'

important notice

Please be advised that Schengen visa applications from Canada are not processed by the Royal Danish Embassy in Ottawa. While your physical file and passport are stored at the Royal Danish Embassy in Ottawa, your digital file will be processed at the Danish Consulate General in New York City.

As a result of this, the Royal Danish Embassy in Ottawa cannot assist you with the Schengen visa application process, including guidance, decisions, processing time and accepting applications.

Appointment Booking

All Schengen visa applications, without exception, must be submitted via our outsourcing partner, VFS Global. You can book your appointment here.

For assistance:

Call VFS Global: 1-866-978-5904 (Live agent Monday to Friday 8am-5pm EST)

Email VFS Global: [email protected]

Please note

Neither the Embassy nor our consulates can be held responsible for technical difficulties, human errors or shipping delays in the processing of passports, permits and visa applications.